By OSMAN MOHAMED OSMAN
{Pictured above}

It is really disturbing to be told by a brother that
you are not a brother anymore, to be chased away
from a house you have always called home, to be
accused of doing injustice to a brother you have
always regarded in high esteem.

It is really disturbing, too, to watch as a bunch of
lunatics high on some potent pseudo-religious
intoxicant hijack a whole doctrine and turn every
dogma you have believed in upside down.

It is really disturbing, but, brothers and sisters, it is
happening.

I want to write about what is going on in Kenya
today, but before we get to that, allow me to
digress a bit.

It is important, I think, that I tell you who I am
before we get into this story, because only that way
can you understand my frame of mind.

My name is Osman. Osman Mohammed Osman.

I am a Kenyan — forget all that ‘Kenyan-Somali’
nonsense bandied around of late — and if there is
anyone whose heart beats for the good of this
nation, that person is me.

Quite distressful

That said, I must say that the past two weeks have
been quite distressful for me.
Even as I confess my Kenyanness, which I swore
long ago to uphold and respect, I am now torn
between confessing my patriotic allegiances and
my ethnic affiliations.

When the government announced a crackdown on
illegal immigrants in Kenya, who are suspected of
being behind the wave of terror activities in the
country of late, all eyes turned on Eastleigh, the
‘Little Mogadishu’ located on the outskirts of
Nairobi that is believed to be the epicentre of
lawlessness and wayward religious indoctrination.

And here, as anyone would expect, they found
hundreds of people who either did not have valid
identification documents, or were in the country
illegally.

Stereotyping

Most of them were Somalis who had somehow
sneaked into the capital either from refugee camps
in the north, or directly from their war-torn nation.

And then the stereotyping and finger-pointing
started.

Soon this degenerated into an us-against-them
derby, and I, Osman Mohammed Osman, became
guilty by birth, blameworthy, censurable and
untrustworthy for having the ‘wrong’ ethnic
identity.

But why me?

Why us?

What have I done to be
lumped together with the swash-bucklers who shot
a bullet into the head of a toddler?

I did not emigrate to this beautiful nation, friends!

I was born here 20 years ago in a small maternity
hospital in Thika town, now part of Kiambu County,
to an army officer who has gallantly fought for this
nation for about 30 years now.

Over the years, I have watched my father serve his
country with diligence and dedication, and I think
that some of the passion I have for this land is
borne of the patriotism the good man planted in
me early in life.

Back in the 1980s, my father made a decision that
affected, for the better, the trajectories of many
who looked up to him for guidance and love.

The son of a pastoralist farmer in the harsh Kenyan
north, he grew up tending to the camels and goats
of his father, my grandfather, and many expected
that he would follow in the footsteps of all that had
gone before him and acquire a flock of his own.

Travelled to Nairobi

But the man had other ideas, and so one day he
climbed into a bus and travelled to Nairobi in
search of a better life.

As fate would have it, the military was planning a
recruitment at about the same time, and so a few
days later he ran and jogged and jumped and did
all that they do in army recruitment drives.

He cleared the hurdles and was recruited into the
army, and after training they posted him to Thika,
where he started a family and watched us grow
into what we are today.

As such, I have stronger associations with the
Kikuyu and Meru and Embu and Kamba neighbours
I grew up with than with my Somali kith and kin.

Thika is my home, for here is where they buried my
umbilical cord all those moons ago.

I am, therefore, as tethered to this ground as
anyone born here would be.

But the last 14 days have planted in
me this
trepidation, this foreboding that maybe I do not
belong here, that maybe my links with Thika are
not strong enough.

Yet, deep inside, I know I am right, that I have a
right to be called a Kenyan, to be identified with my
nation rather than the shape of my nose and the
language I speak.

I get a bit uncomfortable when you give me that
weird look on the streets, because what you are
doing is telling me that I am guilty until proven
innocent, that I am a prisoner of your misjudgment
in my own home.

Mohamed Khalif, a good friend of mine and also the
son of a military officer, walked into a restaurant
early this month to watch a football match and
probably grab some coffee.

A few seconds after settling in, a waitress
approached him and coolly asked for his ID card,
which he declined to produce because the good
lady was not a security officer.

They had a verbal altercation during which
Mohamed tried to convince the woman that there
was no requirement for him to prove his nationality
before he was served, and in the end, the waitress
just got fed up and blurted it out:

You are a Somali,
she said, and that makes you suspect.

Should he? Must he?

Now, Mohamed could perhaps have avoided all this
by either staying away from the restaurant
completely, or reaching for his wallet and
producing his ID as asked.

But should he? Must he?

As his father dodges Al-Shabaab bullets in Somalia,
where he has been holed for the past several
months, Mohamed is being asked to prove his
Kenyanness, his innocence and his allegiance.

And that, folks, is the dilemma we Kenyans of
Somali descent now find ourselves in.

I know there are a lot of emotions regarding the
ongoing security operation in Eastleigh and other
parts of the country, and I want to make it clear
here that I, and a number of fellow Somalis that I
know, support it through and through.

I find it rather callous and outrightly beastly for
anyone to commit the kind of atrocities that we
have witnessed in various parts of the country of
late, and I think it is only right that we weed out
these miscreants.

But, folks, spare us the finger-pointing, because I
don’t want to feel like a dreadlocked young man in
Murang’a at the height of the operation against
Mungiki adherents.

I want to be viewed as a brother, to be able to walk
into a restaurant, order some coffee and watch
Manchester United lose.

I want to celebrate the wins of this nation with you,
and to cry with you when the need arises.

I don’t want to keep looking over my shoulder
every time I sense some commotion behind me, or
to endure those disapproving stares when I board a
matatu.

Because that would be just wrong.

Too wrong and too hard to bear.

Nothing to do with loonies

My name, the shape of my forehead, or the texture
of my hair have nothing to do with the loonies
shedding innocent blood in the name of religion.

Every market has its own mad man, but that does
not mean all men in those markets are mad.

The Islam I know, the Islam my dad introduced me
to, and the Islam I profess does not preach the hate
coming from the mouthpieces of al-Shabaab, al-
Qaeda and their off-shoots and sympathisers.

I have never, in the 20 years of my life, shed
innocent blood for any cause, and I doubt whether
there is any indoctrination, whether religious or
otherwise, that can cause me to do that now.

As such, I view terrorism as any level-headed man
would; with the disdain it deserves.

So, can Osman, a Somali, feel safe in the company
of Oluoch, a Luo? Can Kilonzo, a Kamba, embrace
Patel, his Indian friend?

I believe in brotherhood, probably because I grew
up in a military camp, interacting with men and
women from all manner of social and ethnic
backgrounds.

Let us, then, not be divided by evil foreign
characters who have no idea what brotherhood, in
the true sense of the word, means.

Let us not be divided by a people with religious
militancy boiling inside their bowels and bullets
shooting from their illegal Kalashnikovs.

Our national anthem pleads that we should dwell in
unity, peace and liberty, that justice should be our
shield and defender.

I hope those words mean something to you, that
the dreams and aspirations of our ancestors will
pull a chord inside your heart, and that I can lean
on your shoulder at the greatest hour of my need.

— Osman Mohamed Osman is a First-Year student
at USIU-Nairobi.

⤤Thoughts on Osman,s article 

• Reply •
mkenya • 19 hours ago
I feel and share your pain,but i am
convinced more than ever before that the
Kenyan somali just like any other Kenyan
have a duty to their country and their
motherland.We should and must be the
intelligence the country desperately needs
by reporting the bad guys in our
midst,nipping terrorists plots in the bud by
reporting to the authorities and working
towards a better and just society.The
kenyan somali society just like the Mungiki
were to the Kikuyu have elements that
make it look bad.How do you explain the
fact the that the killers of westgate lived
within us,got assistance from us to kill and
wound our fellow brothers.The bond that
binds us as citizens must be stronger than
any other,stronger than blood,than
religion,than political affiliations.The country
must always come first aware that this is
the only country in the world that you can
work without a work permit.God bless
Kenya.
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
Amolo • a day ago
Life is unfair my brother. But you are a
beautiful writer
1 △ ▽
• Reply •
ThinkTank2014 • 4 days ago
Profiling? That is not true. Do you see Pokots
or Maasais or Turkanas crying foul? The
epicenter of the crime and all other
terroristic tendencies is Mombasa or
Eastleigh. Who occupies those places in the
greatest proportions? And why do bombs go
off in these places? So do you mean the
bombs are profiling the places where it
detonates…?
1 △ ▽
• Reply •
Emmanuel M’Mwirichia
• 4 days ago
>
ThinkTank2014
You missed the whole point of the
article. It has a very conciliatory tone
to it and asks us to treat each other
with respect.
Your comments are a tad bit blanket
condemnations. Crime happens
everywhere. Every market has its
madmen but not every man in the
market is mad. Reread the article
8 △ ▽
• Reply •
abdiwahab • 5 days ago
well said.message very clear expressing the
pain while while not offending the pple
intended to recieve.never seen well written
article like this in my life
8 △ ▽
• Reply •
Abdullahi Omar Jr. • 5 days ago
well written brother, i am kenyan who lives
in eastliegh and i witness what the police
are doing first hand. they have raided our
house three times in the past week, at 1 am
in the morning. i showed them my second
generation I.D but they told me they would
take me to kasarani to confirm that it is
original unless i pay “chai”. i will always love
this country and protect the constitution,but
i have no respect for someone that doesnt
obey the rule of law and the constitution,
whether it is the police or the exucutive…
4 △ ▽
• Reply •
Fawa • 5 days ago
Bravo for sharing this story and i must say
your words have indeed struck a chord. I
pray that this does not escalate as this is
indeed a storm brewing that if not
prevented will be too much for the
government too handle once it takes full
form

• Reply •
Anaharvard • 5 days ago
Thank you for speaking up. Thank you for
humanizing this. I am disgusted by the
silence we are getting from fellow Kenyans.
The hypocrisy is unacceptable. Whatever
happened to ‘we are one’?
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
Abdi • 5 days ago
Osman, take a heart brother. We are all
going through the sentiments you have
shared, let’s be hopeful that this comes to
an end once and for all.

• Reply •
Mu☁Shohi • 5 days ago
my brother..pole pole sana. Tuko pamoja

• Reply •
Jaymo • 5 days ago
Osman, that’s a good piece, and i feel your
pain. I know where you are coming from
because i have been there. You see, i am
kikuyu, and was a victim of similar
suspicions during the fight against mungiki.
But sometimes i feel that some things
cannot be avoided. There is no denying that
MOST of those who have been terrorizing us
are PREDOMINANTLY of Somali origin. You
therefore should not take offense if a Somali
walks into a restaurant and i walk out, not
because i hate him, but because my safety
comes first. Your friend was right to refuse
to produce his ID, because as you said, the
waitress was not a security officer. But since
i have a duty to mind my own safety and
that of my family, and because i am not
allowed to demand that you identify
yourself, walking away from you is the
easiest way to ensure my daughter and i are
safe. You understand that i cannot tell a
terrorist by just looking at them. so unless i
know you personally, forgive me but i will
still walk away.
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
martin • 5 days ago
As a kikiyu youth, i understand your
concern, we were arrested and put on
prison, simply because of been a kikuyu.
some of my brothers vanished never to be
seen alone, not withstanding been innocent.
been a kikuyu was a crime by it self.
but we should not reverse to our tribal
cocoons coz of this, rather it should serve as
a remainder and give us resolve never nto
let criminals/terrorist live among us, even if
its “our” people.
5 △ ▽
• Reply •
David • 5 days ago
Osman being one of the many guy that I had
the honor of going to high school with it
never occurred to me that I could think of
other people through racial or tribal
perspective and not as just another person.
But now since I finished high school with
you and moved to another country where
majority of people see other people from a
racial perspective and stereotype I can
understand. Just because one person did
this or that does not generalise to the
belive, race, or tribe of the person and we all
start stereotyping. Those who point fingers
and judge an entire group for the act of one
person, what if now the fingers were now
pointing to you?
6 △ ▽
• Reply •
Marenga • 5 days ago
Nice piece Osman, but still it is troubling
when the likes of Duale and former deputy
speaker talk of “My people” in reference to
Somalis of Kenya, Djibouti and Ethiopia. I
know of Luos of Tanzania and Uganda but no
Nyanza politician has implicitly or explicitly
declared any special relation beyond EA
brotherhood.
1 △ ▽
• Reply •
Chris Moruri • 5 days ago
I agree with you. At the end of the day we’re
all Africans. Why are we killing each other in
the name of Islam and Christianity, religions
of which neither originally belonged to us?
The thing that I love about us Kenyan’s is
our diversity. I’m Kisii second, but I’m
Kenyan first. I don’t care if you are kamba,
Gikuyu, Somali, Luhya, kalenjin, Luo,
Swahili, Turkana, Taita, Mijikenda….you get
my drift. I love you Kenyans. I wish we would
stop seeing ourselves as tribes, let’s be
Kenyans and listen to good music from
Gabriel Omolo, Pascal Tabu Ley, Mbilia bel,
Maroon Commandos, Franco Luambo
Makiadi……etc. Let’s love each other and go
back to when times were poa.
3 △ ▽
• Reply •
d • 5 days ago > Chris Moruri
Well said.
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
Peace2World • 5 days ago
Hi Osman, thanks for educating other
Kenyans about the negative impact of
‘whole-sale’ condemnation of our fellow
citizens for the sins of their ‘kins’. Whether
your umbilical cord was buried in Thika or
Garissa you are a Kenyan and should not
make any apologies about it. The use of the
term Kenya-Somali is abusive and
discriminatory at worst. Our fellow citizens
are either Kenyans or not. There are also
Luos in Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan and
DRC but we do not hear the crap about
Kenya-Luo. Thee are also Maasais in
Tanzania but nobody shouts Kenya-Maasai
and there are Kalenjins in Uganda but
nobody says Kenya-Kalenjin. Our insecurity
problem does not come from our fellow
citizens who happen to be Somalis but from
our collective shame of corruption, tribalism,
unemployment and poverty. The silence of
the civil society is deafening. All Kenyans
must condemn the ongoing human rights
violations against our fellow citizens. When
we start feeling that we are more Kenyans
than some of our fellow citizens we need to
have our heads examined.
3 △ ▽
• Reply •
ThinkTank2014 • 5 days ago
The rights of the minority cannot trounce
the rights of the majority. Yes, those who
want to kill in the name of some holy war
are infringing on the right to life which is
bestowed every Kenyan. And so, when the
majority start to exercise that demand to be
protected for their right, it is incumbent
upon the minority to re-examine her
tendencies!
1 △ ▽
• Reply •
ThinkTank2014 • 5 days ago
::-When the Mungiki struck, the police
crackdown began. The Mungukis were Kyuks
and the Kikuyu community did not say we
are targeted. They colaborated and today
the Mungikis are almost extinct.
Now, When Al Shabaab strikes, the police
unit is at it again and the muslim
community should not complain because
these elements are part of the islamic
community. The police will do their job until
the Kenyan citizens are safe….Mr. Duale,
Kwani unataka police waende penye hakuna
fujo? Wenye kufanya fujo ndo wenye
wataona cha mtema kuni!
The rights of the minority cannot trounce
the rights of the majority. Yes, those who
want to kill in the name of some right to
religion and some holy war are infringing on
the right to life which is supreme n
bestowed every Kenyan. And so, when the
majority start to exercise that demand to be
protected for their right, it is incumbent
upon the minority to re-examine her
tendencies or else!
6 △ ▽
• Reply •
Moses Njengs • 5 days ago
Take heart ndugu osman as my fellow man
and compatriot just keep your head high coz
these are the times to endure and persevere
regardless of ones color toungue status
beliefs or origin

• Reply •
Cathy W. • 5 days ago
I am not defending anybody, I visit other
countries, and have seen that Police all over
the world have no way of knowing I am a
good person just by looking at me, They ask
for my ID and I produce it if I have it, If I do
not have it I call someone to bring it to
police station, I do not feel offended by this
because i know they are doing their job and
I have nothing to hide or scared of. My
question is, where do police start looking for
criminals if we all feel angry when they ask
for our identification documents? If they
want to know which part of Kenya I come
from, and my parents, grand parents,
addresses, I will just obey and give them. I
doubt they would go on and on if they are
satisfied with my answers.
6 △ ▽
• Reply •
Enigmie
• 2 days ago
> Cathy W.
How is this relevant to the article?

• Reply •
chupacabra
• 4 days ago
> Cathy W.
which country is this if I may ask?
1 △ ▽
• Reply •
Mimi • 5 days ago
It’s a shame what the 1885 Berlin
conference did to Africa. The boundaries
that were created by those greedy and evil
men, not only divided countries, but they
divided our hearts and what used to be the
true African spirit and cord of brotherhood
was broken. We need to see and think
beyond borders. We are all connected, we
have to stop alienating each other.
3 △ ▽
• Reply •
Sifu Msafiri • 5 days ago
Well spoken, my brother, and I empathize
with the situation you describe. But can you
address yourself to one Hon. Duale? As long
as you have people like Duale, spewing
vitriol when they should be in the forefront
of confronting the vice, which is terrorism,
other Kenyans will remain suspicious of
fellows who look like you. That’s just the
unfortunate reality we have to face in
Kenyan, thanks to the genesis of terrorist
attacks in Kenyan in 1998, attributed to
people with similar face morphology and
hair texture!!

• Reply •
Phoebe Rordam • 5 days ago
I highly doubt that this piece was written by
a First-Year student at USIU-Nairobi. On the
basis of my many years of experience with
students, not even a First-Year student at
Harvard or Oxford University would pen
such a rhetorically dense and persuasive
piece down. I am certain beyond any
reasonable doubt that this piece was ghost
written or greatly edited by a highly placed
PR professional — bent to move, persuade
and manipulate the Kenyan public — for
Osman Mohamad Osman — if indeed he is
real, known and enrolled at USIU — as a
First-year Kenyan student, who happens to
be of Somali descent.
8 △ ▽
• Reply •
mbireb
• 3 days ago
> Phoebe Rordam
I do hope you’re not of European
descent. Ye of little faith from that
school of thought that Africans are not
intelligent….
1 △ ▽
• Reply •
Fawa
• 5 days ago
> Phoebe Rordam
Hello Phoebe,
Welcome to the Education to take you
places. Being a student of USIU-
AFRICA myself, i can confirm that
Osman is currently enrolled as a first
year student in USIU-AFRICA . I have
had the honor of interacting with him
on various occasions where he has
shown that he is indeed very
intelligent. So do not discredit him on
your ‘many’ years of experience in the
so called ivy league schools as those
are not the only places smart
individuals go to school.
8 △ ▽
• Reply •
Hustler. • 5 days ago
Its been said the Al shaab are Somalis, but
they forget to know that even other tribes
have join them. so stop blaming the
Somalis, look for them in this country and
you will find them.

• Reply •
Kizito • 5 days ago
Pole sana Osman ! You are our brother! do
not worry! kwanza that waiter was too
much. I still think though Kenyan Somalis
and the Muslims have a greater advantage
to help the security forces, intelligence and
the nation you love to neutralise these
problem ! The politicians don’t seem to be
helping much! the vote is too important!
1 △ ▽
• Reply •
Victor Ngatho • 5 days ago
You have broken my heart, Osman, you have
reached the center of my feelings; but i
want you to look on my side ; when i see
those who look like you shoot,boom and
disappear in your midst without any report
to the police-what are my options? I am left
alone to complete the sentence, and you
know what that means? The whole
community is to blame for keeping quiet
when they know the suspect around them. I
will just ask just one thing,from you,
pause,look at my face and you will know my
fears and pain too. My fear may not come
from the police, but truely am in dilema, you
are in dilema. So, this saying is true, I AND
YOU, ARE IN DILEMA!!
5 △ ▽
• Reply •
Sam • 5 days ago
I remember the Kabete Road- Police station-
was manned by a Somali contingent- and
that was in the 70’s- a capable Police Force

• Reply •
Thankless
• 21 hours ago
> Sam
What does that have to do with this
article, as a matter of fact with
anything??
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
Nyiha • 5 days ago
very touching Osman. No words..God help
our country
4 △ ▽
• Reply •
kisima giningi • 5 days ago
Empathy is understandable but there is no
two ways about knowing a Kenyan Somali
given their brothers from Somali, Djibouti or
Ethiopia. I.D production is a must, and
Kenyan Somalis should not feel offended to
do so.
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
kenjadi
• 5 days ago
> kisima giningi
It is naive and simplistic in this day
and age to assume only people of
certain ethnic descent are potential
terrorists, even if most of known terror
suspects have come from there. If law
enforcement personnel – and only they
have legal authority in defined
contexts – must demand for IDs, it
should apply to ALL! Profiling is a very
dangerous trend, and glorifying it
along with our ethnic stereotypes will
only balkanize Kenya further and
create an ethnic-tension-filled
environment that will explode on us
next time politicians come courting us
for votes. When that happens Kisima
giningi, you will wish we thought our
actions more soberly!

• Reply •
eatwhenhungry • 5 days ago
Pole sana. Kenyans have discrimination in
their DNA and that is why acts of one person
is projected to the group. Just look at what
tribalism has done. Our good nature only
appears when we read these articles or the
few inspiring stories around us and
immediately the story ends we are back to
the motto of us and them. Its such a shame.
10 △ ▽
• Reply •
david ndegwa • 5 days ago
still not cnvincing
3 △ ▽
• Reply •
Simon Makonde • 5 days ago
The reason Somalis feel targeted is because
they are the ones allowing this miscreants
as you call them to live with them.I cannot
claim to be fair,but in all fairness Somalis
live in a closed society.how often do you
hear Somalis intermarrying?if anyone is
isolating Somalis it us Somalis
themselves.they chose this life if they
worked at inter grating maybe they would
not be quite conspicous.pole Osman,ni Watu
wasomaliya wanakuharibia.lakini lazima
tuanzie somewhere and thus refugees gave
to go.
4 △ ▽
• Reply •
bonyeza • 6 days ago
walalki Osman you spoke on my behalf too..
a kenyan wariah..my father was a decorated
policeman who spent years protecting this
country and served honorably and with
utmost sense of patriotism…his blood would
boil if he saw how our entire community is
being treated as foreigners in their own
country… nothing can explain the anger and
frustration i feel when i see how poorly we
have been handled by this country
15 △ ▽
• Reply •
MimisiMimi • 6 days ago
Unfortunately just like the mungiki you
mention, somebody is using your identities
to commit and justify crime: murder and
terror. The solution is to demand that they
stop abusing your identity. It is to demand
that your identity as a Somali and as a
Muslim be treated with respect; by your
fellow Somalis and Muslims. The preachers
and mosques where radicalization takes
place are known to members of your
community, but, the community chooses to
keep quite. These are the consequences. Get
angry at them, get angry at their silence,
get angry at the criminals. Demand that
they cannot use your identity to commit
crime, justify it or support it. Demand that
your community aggressively passes any
information they have to the authorities.
Demand that your religious and political
leaders condemn this acts of murder and
terror. Only then will we have sustainable
peace. Preaching against profiling is not
enough. Peace.
3 △ ▽
• Reply •
kunguru • 6 days ago
If only more Somalis would apply the same
zeal you have to rebuild their own country
many of this problems would be avoided.

• Reply •
chris • 6 days ago
Great piece!

• Reply •
Eddie Kemoi • 6 days ago
Blame it on your Brothers….you are Kenyan
and you have the valid documentation, why
bother???….play part in educating you kins
on the benefits of core-existence na
wapeleke GRENADE Somalia
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
Judy • 6 days ago
Pole. I feel for you. Maybe you can help the
cops by working with them to help identify
the illegal immigrants, especially if you can
understand the language.
Please try to understand that the terrorists
have become bold and need to be dealt with
once and for all.

• Reply •
Evans • 6 days ago
This brother can write!Your piece is
awesome, your concerns well articulated,
the logic of your mind so clear.Great artistry
with language Osman.Wont mind reading
more pieces from you!

• Reply •
Kamau Pharis • 6 days ago
Terror spares no one, but the brainwashed
‘funda’mentalists with their reign of
mayhem and destruction can’t afford us a
chance to be too selective in pursuit of the
culprits: you may cry victimisation now but
terrorists dwell among ordinary folks, not in
a hole in the woods. The infamous Makaburi
used to propagate and preach hatred and
antagonism but his ilk were ok with it. Am
not for tribal stereotyping but indoctrination
is an ongoing thing Osman at madrassas
and mosques…am for peace to all mankind
but its mostly a fantasy, as things stand.
Meanwhile, leave Manchester United out of
this: don’t make a habit of kicking someone
when he is down
2 △ ▽
• Reply •
Githaiti1 • 6 days ago
A lovely piece Osman and I cannot agree
more with you. It is totally wrong for people
to judge you by the language you speak,
texture of your hair and not your character.
We must keep telling it to them as it is.
Keep safe!

• Reply •
leyla • 6 days ago
Fantastically written! I relate with what you
are feeling as a Kenyan Somali. This
demonizing needs to stop and the
government needs to adopt a better
solution to tackling the terrorism issue
rather than ethnic profiling like enhanced
intelligence, community engagement and
policing. Cant Kenya learn from the UK and
other countries who have dealt with the
same issues?

• Reply •
kazi • 18 hours ago > leyla
UK and USA responded to the issue of
terrorism by invading Iraq and killing
thousands of civilians.If that was not
enough, they resorted to
rendition,drone bombing of suspects
and “collateral damage”,and set up
the Guantanamo concentration
camp .Is this what you want Kenya to
learn???

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

